The Commonwealth Games – A look through the ages

The Commonwealth Games are a globally recognised sporting event today, and the 2014 Commonwealth Games which have officially been dubbed the XX games, will be held from 23rd July to 3rd August 2014, in Glasgow, Scotland. The event sees participation from dozens of countries, all former members of the British Empire that stretched all over the globe at one point of time, and it was from here that the event got its name.

The history behind the name of the Commonwealth Games

The very first Commonwealth Games were held in Canada, all the way back in 1930. At the time, they were called British Empire Games. It was in 1954 that the games started being referred to as the British Empire and Commonwealth Games. For the games held in 1970 and 1974, the event was called British Commonwealth Games, until finally in 1978 the event started being called Commonwealth Games.

Participants in the Commonwealth Games

The very first games saw the participation of just 11 countries, but the event has grown in size and repute since then. In the past eight decades, the games have become a way for the commonwealth countries to showcase the prowess of their athletes, and men and women train for years just to take part in the event and win accolades for their country. The XX Commonwealth Games will see the participation of 71 countries, and some of the finest sportsmen from all over the world will be complete against each other in dozens of sports to see who is the best.

Scotland – The host to the 2014 Commonwealth Games

The games are held after every 4 years, and a different nation plays host to the games each time. Last time the event was held by India, and was held in the city of New Delhi, while this year Glasgow will play host to the 71 participating countries and ensure the necessary arrangements for accommodations, travel, and gaming arena, just like India did for the last games. The city has been busy cleaning itself up, and signs have been put up all over the place, announcing in precise detail how far important locations are from that point. The many statues of Clyde, the Mascot of the XX Games is placed all over the East side of Glasgow, and tourists can already be seen getting their photographs clicked with him.

Role of India in the Commonwealth Games

India has been taking part in the Commonwealth Games since the second Commonwealth Games, all the way back in 1934, and even hosted the previous 2010 Commonwealth Games. 2010 also proved to be the most successful games for the country, where India crossed the 100 medal tally mark for the first time in 80 years that it has been participating in these games. Over 200 Indian athletes have already reached Scotland and already there has been quite a buzz surrounding some of the key players.

The XX Commonwealth Games is expected to be a great success, and with 71 countries coming together to compete in 17 games, the matches will be a delight for sports fans all over the world. India will field a strong 215 member contingent, their second largest ever, with athletics forming the biggest squad of 41. The sports ministry has cleared the 215 athletes from 14 sporting disciplines, including seven para-athletes, at government cost, along with a contingent of 90 officials, coaches and support staff. The Glasgow Games will have 17 sports and 261 medal events. India will not be fielding athletes in three disciplines — rugby sevens, netball and triathlon. offers various exciting deals on various domestic and international tour packages. is one of the best known tour operators in India offering Lowest airfare. Hurry up and do not miss the opportunity to be part of Common Wealth  Games 2014. Connect to for more information.


Share Our Posts

Share this post through social bookmarks.

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati


Tell us what do you think.

There are no comments on this entry.


Websites mentioned my entry.

There are no trackbacks on this entry